Ok so I have tried to write this stupid blog like 3 times and this program keeps crashing. Instead of a really elaborate, detailed update on my dad you will get a Cliff's Notes version. I apologize. I know you have all been in the dark for some time about what is happening to my dad. I can fill you in from about Nov 12 which is when I arrived at my parent's house. We began my trip home by walking an hour a day around Lake Herrick, dining at Five and Ten, visiting nightly over a Manhattan (mine) and a Green Tea (his). This relative normalcy changed quite rapidly as he began falling, speaking more agitatedly, being incoherent/detached at times, and talking a lot about suicide. At a routine nephrology appointment, his doctor was so alarmed by his behavior and mood that checked him into Athens Regional. He spent 4 nights there and they did another MRI. He had the one at Duke at the end of Sept that showed the tumor had returned and was about 3 cm. The one here showed that it was now 9+ cm. In two months. That means that the Avastin and CPT-11 treatments he was receiving (the agressive treatment he always mentioned) had done nothing. Duke University and Northeast Georgia Cancer Care officially stopped treating my dad's cancer on Thanksgiving Day. On Dec 1, he entered St Mary's Hospice. He's been at home and seen regularly by the extraordinary hospice nurses who come at all times of the day to see that he has meds, is bathed, to answer our myriad questions, to bring any little thing that gives my dad comfort. It's a bit odd to make the switch from life-saving medicine to comforting medicine. It's a bit like driving a 2WD car, top speed, up the side of a mountain only to be told halfway up that you can turn around and coast back down to the bottom. It takes a while to forget that you were trying so hard to reach the top. My dad settled into hospice well and for the first ten days we had relatively unchanged days and nights. He was still mostly mobile and we also had tools to keep his quality of life up like the wheelchair (pictured above with his sister, Gerta) and the shower chair, etc. Tuesday night he began complaining of a severe headache. When the Tylenol did nothing and his pain, fear and agitation were rapidly increasing, my mother called Hospice who naturally came right over and administered small doses of Morphine until he could sleep. He said he -amazingly- still had the headache however. He did sleep all night and then all day and then his vitals freaked out and his blood pressure was WAY up then his temp was WAY up and then he slept all day yesterday, not even to take food or water. We were concerned but we gradually got his vitals under control. This morning he began blinking his eyes and squeezing our hands when we asked him to. He also began grunting but not speaking until tonight when he began speaking only slurred German in small 3 word phrases. 
We are about to have a house full of visitors from Germany and Texas and South Carolina and I know all of you probably want to communicate with him, too. The best way to do so is to write a blog comment and I will read it aloud to my dad. He is overwhelmed by in-person visitors at the moment and we are hoping to be better able to accommodate guests in the next few days while he gets stronger. Your understanding is appreciated. Your thoughts and prayers are always close to his heart and they help him immensely. 
Join us in wishing my dad a peaceful night tonight and a strong day tomorrow. 
-Hillary 
Rachel DeBacker
12/12/2013 11:15:23 pm

Hillary, Thank you so much for posting an update. I so appreciate your keeping up with this. We love your dad and are rooting for you guys, but mostly just want him to know that we are thinking of him and all of you and praying that he is surrounded by all people and things that make him happy. What a life he has lived. He is someone you do not forget meeting. It's something I take for granted because I have known him so long, but meeting your dad once is enough to remember his kindness and his spirit. We love you, Super Peter!

Reply
12/12/2013 11:45:09 pm

Hillary, I am so grateful that Archie and I were able to visit with you in November. I so enjoyed the tea, the walk around the neighborhood and the catching up we were able to do. I will never forget his photographing Rachel's wedding and enjoying that time. He's an awesome gentleman and scholar and every conversation with him over the years brought laughter and smiles. I think the twinkle in his eyes are the most wonderful. God bless all of you.

Reply
Marianne S.
12/17/2013 09:08:55 pm

Hillary,
Thanks so much for the update on your sweet Daddy. He has meant so much to me and I would love for him to know that and that I am praying for him as he asked me to.

So hard for all of you right now - my love and prayers are with all of you

Marianne

Reply
Jack and Julianne Moak
12/20/2013 04:36:45 am

Hillary, Talked with your mother this morning. Had no idea he was so bad. Your blog also brought us up to date/ I can't express how sad this is for us. We have loved Peter and Carol from the beginning and will continue to have him in our thoughts and prayers

Reply



Leave a Reply.