Day 23. A new month! I told Peter today, “Your treatments will end THIS MONTH!” I’m looking at my calendar page for February and it’s already full of stuff to do, visitors coming to visit, so I know the time will fly.
Peter’s having trouble keeping down what little food he can eat, so that will be our focus now. He wanted a McDonald’s hamburger today and it stayed down.
He wanted to go for a walk this afternoon, so we bundled up and walked around the block. He hasn’t done that in a long time and I hope he keeps it up.
Now we’ve got the weekend to look forward to, and sister Lis arrives tomorrow with her dog, Millie. Lis and I will put our heads together about this food business. If anyone can get results in that department, it will be Lis, the self-described “food nerd” of the family!
Peter has invented a new way to keep his dialysis fluid lines in place so they won’t set off the alarm when he rolls over. Let’s hope it works.
Betty
2/2/2013 01:11:20 am

What a great start to Feb-----a Mickey D's hamburger, a bracing walk, a visit from a loving sister, and a solution (hopefully) to an aggravating problem! Not to mention a haircut! Keep up the forward progress. Hope the family food guru comes up with some solutions to the appetite and nausea problems. Feb is moving along and hopefully the 20th will arrive quickly.

Your friends and cheering section are praying for you. Please call on us to do whatever we can for both/either of you. Love to all.

Reply
Pennyb
2/2/2013 03:35:51 am

February is already two days old - only a few more to go. You know we all are pulling for you. Sounds like you are making strides in the right direction. When you are at McD's, try a smoothie! Thinking of you both every day.

Reply
Steve and Sally
2/2/2013 03:51:15 am

Good to hear Peter managed to go for a walk and eat a little something. Sure hope Lis finds something to tempt Peter's appetite. Millie, I am certain will lift Peter's spirits.

Reply
2/2/2013 04:15:45 am

I feel for you Peter with the chemo. Chemo is needed, but the body does take a hit. We'll keep counting the days with you until this session ends. I'm happy that Carol will have help with planning your menus and I hope that they find the right combination.

Reply
Gerhard
2/2/2013 09:16:49 pm

Hallo, Carol, hallo, Peter,
es sind schon wieder Wochen her, dass ich euch in Durham gesehen habe. Ich höre gerne, dass Peter kleine Fortschritte macht, aber die Behandlung kostet auch alle Kraft, in erster Linie für Peter, aber bestimmt auch für dich Carol. Ich bin weiter in Gedanken bei euch.

Reply
Beth Owens
2/4/2013 12:40:36 am

Try eating a few fritoes while reclining or "soda" crackers. I ate fritoes after my chemo treatments and it really helped.

Reply
Marie-Jeanne
2/4/2013 11:41:39 pm

Carol,
Thank you for taking the time to update.
It was nice to read Peter's last update.I think of you every day and I hope this second half of the treatment will be easier for Peter.I'm far from you, but fortunately you have family and nice friends around you ready to help you if necessary.I keek counting the days with you until the 20th ...
All the best.Love to you and Peter.

Reply
Marie-Jeanne
2/4/2013 11:49:11 pm

Sorry for the mistake ...It was "I keep counting the days " (and no "I keek ...).

Reply



Leave a Reply.