Yesterday evening despite bad connections I was able to talk to Dan one of my close Army Buddies after about 45 years. If it had not been for Lori's sleuthing skills this conversation would not have taken place. It is amazing that after 45 years reconnecting was easy. We were able to exchange information about each other, i.e. marriage, he has two sons and was really amazing still drives the VW bug we rode together visiting the beaches of Normandy and the country sides of the Netherlands in 1965 listening to the Beatles and the Rolling Stones on Radio Luxemburg. Where did the years go! Anyway we hope to get together on June 27 and 28th. Stay tuned, Dan was a crack Army photographer and he promised me some surprised from the past.

I knew that "pigs could fly", but what about dogs soaring? Yes, that is Rennie in a Gondola high about the tree tops looking alertly about. He is without fear and just followed me. He loves the beach and would just stay all day long and play in the black sand.

I hope my reply to Carol with a John Steinbeck quote appeared somewhere in this blog. I also appreciate every comment they sustain me in a big way, letting me know that I am connected to you.
Joan Boyce
6/16/2012 08:12:10 am

Peter, you seem to be enthralled with all this travel and so happy youj're happy. Sounds like things are going well and you are enjoying your company as well. I know he's having the time of his life! I'm surprised Margaret could part with him that long.

Anyway, take care and thanks for sharing the photos. Beautiful photos by the way. Be safe, Joan

Reply
Margaret
6/17/2012 03:38:47 pm

Only because I know he's in good hands!

Reply
Carol Goerig
6/16/2012 11:36:44 am

I haven't seen the John Steinbeck quotation you mentioned. Amazing that Rennie would ride in a gondola. I don't remember seeing those. Are they like ski lift chairs? Do they lift you over the redwoods? What an experience that must have been.

Reply
Margaret
6/17/2012 03:42:54 pm

I haven't seen the quotation you posted, either, but I thought of Charley and Steinbeck when you were in the redwoods, from a funny scene in the book when they visited the park together. I can't believe Renn was allowed on the gondola! And I can't believe you talked to Dan! It'll be fun to read that update from your visit.

Reply



Leave a Reply.