I am dedicating today's entire blog post on my part to Gerta. The name is a typical abbreviation of Gertrude; however for me it always had a special ring to it as she has been my life long inspiration. She was cheated out of her youth, by the European war upheavals following WW1 and WW2.

She was born into a wonderful Ungarian family on my mother's side in 1932, just to be ripped out of this environment cruelly and placed in a totally different culture. From an upscale city scape into a rural setting. The language barrier alone made her stand in the middle of the path and yell out in frustration

Her party with friends and family is being held today. I wish, I could be there and snatch a hug from her.

As a 14 year old, Gerta became my proxy mom. When my family was forced to become refugees, we could basically just take what we could carry, then we were told to walk to the next town and hopefully there would be a freight train waiting. We would set off and this little two year would try to keep up as best as he could. Then there would be the message to turn around and go back...remember there was war activity going on. In one of the churches, they discovered corpses and that must have been a scare. She would stop for me, hug me and just urge me on the best she could. I think I still feel these hugs until today. During some of my personal reflection, recently, although I would do certain things differently, overall I am pretty proud of what became of this little refugee boy of 69 years ago

My sister has been my soulmate in many ways to me; not to take away anything from my other siblings and Lis, I love my entire family. It is just these special memories and the common good times we had together, the inclusion of my family, the reaching out to Carol, my wife, in short the fully caring person that she is.
Gerta, today is your Party and I salute you from afar; however I have you very close to my heart.

Enjoy your garden, enjoy your day, enjoy your gifts , enjoy your family and especially enjoy your next stay in Michelrieth! I am so jealous! Rejoice, everyone, Gerta is the queen of day!

Hillary Bilheimer
11/23/2012 11:20:02 pm

I wish I could also be at Aunt Gerta's party. She is an inspiration to all of us, I think. She manages to be everything for everyone and still find time for her passions: travel, teaching herself new languages, gardening. She's an amazing lady!

Reply
Steve and Sally
11/24/2012 02:57:29 am

Gerta must indeed be a special sister. Hope she has a wonderful celebration. Enjoy your day Peter.

Reply
11/24/2012 05:05:53 am

Liebe Gerta,

den guten Wuenschen schliesse ich mich von ganzem Herzen an !!!!
Peters Erinnerungen bringen die schoenen Stunden in Erinnerung,
als wir in Deinem Wohnzimmer auf der Couch sassen und von
dieser schwierigen Zeit in Deinem und Peters Leben sprachen.
Du hast viel mitgemacht und miterlebt, aber alles mit viel Courage gemeistert und Deinen Humor, Deine Anteilnahme am Leben aller deiner Lieben und deiner Mitmenschen und deine Freude am Leben
nie verloren, im Gegenteil gestaerkt !
Du bist ein wunderbarer Mensch und verdienst heute ordentlich
gefeiert zu werden !!!!!!!!

Mit vielen lieben Gruessen und Wuenschen,
Deine Hilde

Reply
11/24/2012 05:10:48 am

Beautiful!

Reply
Elizabeth and Gary
11/24/2012 10:24:13 pm

Thank you, Peter, for sharing you and your life with us. What a wonderful tribute to Gerta and everyone who holds you close.
Hope today is as special as you are. Hugs to you and Carol.

Reply
Margaret
11/25/2012 06:38:23 am

Aw, I'm pretty proud of what became of the little refugee boy, too, and queen of the day, indeed. Happy Birthday, Tante Gerta! I hope you danced and danced and danced.

Reply



Leave a Reply.