Hello loyal readers and Friends of Peter from guest host, Carol (without an “e”, Dee!). I feel your need to know and I shall respond. I would like to be doing this jointly with Peter, so I’ll try to include his thoughts whenever possible. You know how much he loves his blogosphere and how much he would prefer to be communicating with you directly, but until such time as he can resume his posts, I’ll fill you in on what’s happening, along with much-appreciated help from Hillary, who has offered to transcribe the e-mail messages I send from my desktop computer. If you’ve ever hunt-and-pecked your way through an e-mail on an i-Pad, you know what I’m talkin’ about; if I had to do it that way, my posts would be maybe three lines on a good day, and I would not use any adverbs, nor adjectives.
Today is Day 22. I have every day of chemo/radiation marked on my calendar, and the last day, Day 42, will be February 20th. This means he is halfway through and on the downward slope toward the finish line. The treatments are beginning to tell on him, with the most serious effect being loss of appetite. He can usually manage a decent breakfast, but then for the rest of the day he just nibbles a bit, if that, and then only if I can persuade him to. At his weigh-in Tuesday we learned he has lost eleven pounds in one week, if the scale was right. This morning he wanted a Chick-Fil-A chicken biscuit but couldn’t finish it…good for him that at least there was something that sounded good to him. We also find some success with smoothies, which pack a lot of nutrition of you design them right.
We always look forward to weekends because he gets a radiation holiday for two days and, by Sunday, he starts perking up. His sister, Lis, has been coming out to Athens a lot, to visit, prepare meals, help with whatever needs doing, and give us support. Brother Gaby and Gaby’s grandson, Erik, will be visiting us in mid-February. We feel the love!
As usual, I am praying for a quiet night with The Beast (Peter’s dialysis cycling machine). I am experimenting, but apparently throwing a bedroom slipper at it does not silence the alarm, and I have to be careful because I don’t want it to get mad at me.
Bonne nuit!
Mary Anne
1/31/2013 11:49:55 pm

Carol, thanks for the update! I never thought I would see you blogging!

Hugs to both of you.

Reply
betty
2/1/2013 12:07:38 am

Carol, many thanks for the update. I do hope that the next half of the treatments will be a little easier for both of you. Please call if there is anything I can do.

Maybe there is hope that I can learn some of these new-fangled ways of communicating also! Thanks for making the effort required to learn.

Love to you and Peter.

Reply
Gary and Elizabeth
2/1/2013 01:00:05 am

Carol, thank you so much for taking the time to update all of us. Know that your quiet time is very limited now, so your keeping all of us in the loop garners applause throughout the community to you.

If there is anything any of us can do to be of assistance, just let us know. Hope this weekend is very special, knowing that you and Peter have past the half-way mark. Actually being in February probably makes the due date seem even closer.

Many hugs to you both, and your wonderful family.

Reply
Nancy Dove
2/1/2013 06:05:44 am

Thanks Carol for the update. Insure wish there was more we could do for both of you but I am keeping you in my thoughts and prayers. I am Peter's friend that had a kidney transplant two years ago. I have only known him briefly but he is in my heart. Please let me know if there is ever anything I can do to help. Hugs to all. Nancy

Reply
Steve and Sally
2/2/2013 03:44:35 am

Carol, I am impressed. I am certain your many friends and family appreciate, as we do, any updates you can manage.

Reply



Leave a Reply.