I have always admired people who like Dan Weggeland will buy a new car and then keep the cars in pristine shape for the next 50+ years. The above car belongs to a Vietnam Vet who bought the car in 1964 and even though they have raided it on three occasions, including during an Oakland Raiders game he keeps this Impala in fantastic condition. Yet, what got my attention was this little lock near the front driver side. Does anyone venture to guess what secret that little lock guarded?

Oakland seems to have a number of "Oldies" on the road. I am showcasing this beauty for Carol. I think her family had a 1962 Nova in their possession. I have seen Ford Rancheros, Chevy El Caminos and I am on the lookout for my first Edsel.

Oakland has a beautiful Chinatown section. As a result if you happen to get up at 6 am on a Sunday morning (or any morning) you may come across these Asians performing their morning rituals. The lake in the background is Lake Merritt which is about one mile from downtown and draws a variety of activities. For example, Sunday was Regatta Day and all day long there were races. Rennie and I walked around the entire lake (Margaret the long way) and were entertained by the lovely warm up chatter of the rowers and hearing last commands given by the cox swains.

We passed the Catholic Diocese's Cathedral. See if you can pick it out.
Oakland was recently picked as the fifth most desired town to move to which surprised me. After a short stay here, I can see why. It seems that the city is placing a high value on improving the quality of life for its citizen. The place I am staying is built on hills and the architecture of its buildings sometimes takes 4-5 terraced levels each uniquel in character. Because the climate is so moderate the plants are exotic. I have seen Jade plants they had to be one foot in diameter.

Betty J
7/3/2012 01:43:28 am

What a wonderful trip with all sorts of experiences you are having! Ken and I lived near Primrose Hill park in London at one time. There was an Oriental gentleman who used to walk the park and do his Tai Chi in the early mornings. His wife who always looked embarrassed used to accompany him.

You are missed here. Your blog will be missed when you come home.

Reply
Penny
7/3/2012 02:19:59 am

The lock on the car is an alarm. My Dad had one on his car.

Reply
Carol Goerig
7/3/2012 05:42:33 am

Yay, Penny! I would never have guessed that. I had no idea cars had alarms back then. I do remember the locked gas tank covers, though.
Oh, the memories of our yellow Chevy II Nova. It was a beaut, like most cars were then. Of course, it is the 1957 red Chevy that I would like to have back. What an awe-inspiring tank she was.
So Oakland is full of surprises, eh? Loved the video.

Reply
Lori
7/4/2012 02:47:31 am

Im so glad you were able to snap a video of the Tai Chi. I tease Margaret with my rendition of it all the time. Oh, and I forgot to offer Miss Lottie as a third laundry choice; so glad you discovered her. I hate doing laundry with quarters. :)
Kiss the little beasts for me.

Reply



Leave a Reply.