A Happy 4th of July to all. The above tastes as good as it looks let me assure you. My daughter Hillary created her first 4th of July fruit pizza in Jacksonville, I think she was 10 or 11 at the time. She had taken notice of the dessert at a TGIF and set out to create her own. Ever since then this became her traditional contribution to our 4th of July festivities as well as her own. Although, I will not be in Austin to actually taste it this year, I have the scent and special taste locked away in my taste buds.
As for my 4th of July, Rennie and I went in search for a typical 4th of July lunch for me and witnessed many gatherings such as the above. I was in the mood for a hot dog. Keep in mind I am not supposed to eat them. Lo and behold I came to a hot dog stand that served hot dogs in 12 different ethnical variants. There were the Brats, the Wieners and Weisswurst making my German heart dance with joy; however heeding my nutritionist I opted for a Lemon Chicken hot dog, ever as good tasting as the others. Coupled with a delicious macaroni salad that sated me to perfection.
I just could not walk past this superb alignment. I apologize for the poor quality; but the I-touch has it's limitations. To give you an idea, the sky was a true blue, the cypresses (at least I think they are) are a forest green and the Bouganvilla's were a cacophony of different colors. Quite a nice setting on Wesley Dr (the latter is for Lori and Margaret).
Then it was off in search of this gadget below. No, I have not lost my mind and adopted a baby nor do I need to monitor the beasts; however my current cycler arrangement dictates that I close the bathroom door as well as the bedroom door. Everything went alarm free the first 4 days, but last night an alarm came and went unanswered for a couple of hours and I hope it did not disturb anyone within the neighborhood. Of course, fireworks have been going off for the past three nights and people did not notice. So for the benefit of my dialysis followers here is something else to consider. I will see if it works out.

Once again, a colorful- at least the tricolors - Happy 4th of July to you all. Tomorrows blog entry will be for cat lovers. Sofie and Bud, my current foster cats will be front and center.
Stay tuned! These two, especially Sofie are mischievous brats and I love them.
Carol Goerig
7/4/2012 10:50:27 pm

Oh, memories! There is now a jagged hole in my monitor screen where I ate the fruit pizza. Still spitting wires and glass shards out of my mouth, but it was so worth it.
Love the creative use of the baby monitor. It's cheaper than a drone!

Reply
Hillary
7/23/2012 01:26:03 pm

My fruit pizza pic! It was a huge hit at the party for which it was baked. I think the entire thing was eaten by 6 adults and a small child. I missed spending the 4th with all of you. Maybe next year we can plan a one year anniversary of this trip that makes sure we're all together.

Reply



Leave a Reply.