Among a lot of things today it is my brother's birthday. Happy Birthday, Gaby! I hope he and Tanja received the card I especially mailed from Ft Bragg for them.

When it comes to a handy-man project I give it number based on the trips to the hardware store.

Consequently, when Lori said the toilet was very slow in refilling I viewed it as a challenge. Little did I know after getting her permission to try to fix it, it would become a P3 job. Also I think I treaded heavily on our understanding that I would not wreck the place. What do you think after looking at the pix below?

Yep, the bowl had to be separated as the streaks indicated by literally cutting off the nuts as the rubber grommet had started to disintegrate and caused the flush valve become clogged. Even replacing the flush valve (and I struggled with my plumber's honor there for a moment to let it be) the grommet residue would have quickly gummed up the new valve.

In short the toilet was completely overhauled and has now the latest a two stage flush. One button, for #1 and the second button you know what. It is supposed to save a whole lot of water in a given year. No more jiggling a handle even.
Incidentally, I will install this at all of our toilets (with Carol's permission of course). Yet, I have not seen the part at our local Home Depot and it may be offered only in California.

Lori in the event you don't like it or prefer to jiggle I can very easily convert it back to the handle attached to a rubber float.
Bud strikes baaaaack!

I knew the old cat was smarter and as he saw that he was being cheated out of his bonus meal that he had conned from Sofie, he left his dish and followed me instead. I quickly locked Sofie into the bedroom and left her with her food. Then returning to the kitchen Bud followed me and finished his meal.

When I checked on Sofie her food was untouched. I think the old game had been invoked. Oh well, no time to give up. So I picked up her dish and held it under her like you would feed a child. Guess what? She finished every bite. Tomorrow I may have to hum a nursery ryhme and go "this bite is for Bud, this bite is for Lori and so on.
carol
7/6/2012 10:45:51 pm

The adventure continues as Peter struggles for mastery over balky toilets and manipulative cats! I think I hear the toilet crying "Uncle!", but as to the cats, they're still playing their hand. I'll bet they have lots more tricks up their little kitty sleeves.

Reply
Lori
7/7/2012 01:21:34 am

Oh my goodness! Peter, I can't believe what you've done! It's amazing and incredibly generous. The thought of that toilet not running fills me with joy!
And you seem to have fully figured out Bud and Sofie; they're a couple of pieces of work, aren't they?
My continued gratitude for your handyman and beast master talents, Lori

Reply
carol
7/7/2012 04:39:39 am

What does the "P" stand for in "P3"? "Plumbing"? Does that mean that it's a plumbing job that required three trips to the store? What if it were a painting job? Just trying to understand your system, here.

Reply
Hillary
7/23/2012 01:21:49 pm

I think 'P' refers to plumbing and then there is a number that corresponds to how many trips to the store were required for that particular plumbing job. Apparently a P1 is impossible, a P2 rarely happens while most of them are a P3 or higher. Chris has also adopted this system. I think only plumbing operates on this system (there's no 'C' for carpentry, 'B' for building, etc..) as plumbing is the only handiwork that is such a pain in the butt to actually require upwards of 3 trips to the store in order to complete a job.

Reply



Leave a Reply.