Like the Eveready Bunny, Bob Oertel, a great friend and neighbor, motor just keeps running. Bob also an ex-Aqua Buddy still has some ladies at the Y ask about him. Happy Birthday, good buddy and keep on rock'and rolling!
Remember that thing? It got me good! Trying to outwit it and get Lori to handle it tonight I pushed it to its limits. What should have been easy turned into a mess. There was only so much that apparatus could hold. I leave the rest to your imagination. Yet, as Sofie and Bud watched me rectifying the mess I seemed to detect some secret exchanges between the two. Their message? Look at that human idiot!
Today the vacationing Bachelorettes return, meaning Rennie and I have to clear this lovely flat for the past 10 days. That means packing and cleaning, especially the latter. Gotta make sure I check the coach for discarded chips.

I will miss the flat, the cats, the wonderful bedroom with the natural breezes keeping everything pleasantly cool, the walks with Rennie around Lake Merritt, the Trader Joe's within walking distance, the architecture of the buildings, the multi-cultured people teeming in the parks just to work out or having an endless picnic.

Lori, that was a tremendous leap of faith on your part, turning over your home and cats to a stranger you had not even met. I do hope that I can repay you for your gracious offer staying in your flat in the future. Your cats were delighful and despite the mischief they can cause they are sweethearts. I will miss Bud bringing me the long feather in his mouth do I can play with him or Sofie diving into a Trader Joe's paper shopping bag in full force. Thanks a bunch!

Now it is on to Bolinas a small village north of SF where Hillary has found a craftsman style cabin for us for the next 4 nights to stay. Hillary is flying in from Austin tonight and Margaret will join us via the Sausolito ferry tomorrow. Bolinas has a certain aura akin to Key West with supposedly a bunch of free spirits running around. I wonder if we will find it? Apparently, the city gave up replacing the road signs as they kept disappearing.

More on that as the week unfolds.

Good-by Oakland, you'll be missed.
carol
7/9/2012 01:34:16 am

Yes, Peter, today is the day you must remember and make use of your Army training. The IG will catch your shortcuts and (hopefully) punish you severly. I guess you do get some points for all the plumbing work you did, though.
Have a fantastic time in Bolinas with the girls. What a treat for you three!
Say, did you feel yesterday's 4.3 earthquake (epicenter about 140 miles north of SF)?

Reply
Peter Goerig
7/9/2012 07:19:00 am

The job is done and you can actually bounce a quarter on the bed. No bonus points needed here; however the IG with the white gloves will decide, eh.

I don't know anything about Bolinas, but I do hope it will be as nice as Ft Bragg. They seem to be very dog friendly.

Reply
Peter Goerig
7/9/2012 07:22:12 am

No I did not feel the earthquake. Bolinas will be closer to the point mentioned. You don't suggest the big one is around the corner? Don't even want to think about it.

Reply
Hillary
7/23/2012 01:17:29 pm

Oh! you took a GREAT photo of my favorite flowers! This was the day I showed up in Oakland! I could see why you loved it so much. It was really charming.

Reply



Leave a Reply.