Yesterday was full of surprises from my two daughters. First I received an unique Father's Day labelled "Save the Redwoods" from Hillaryand then some well wishes from Margaret after her sailing trip in the Caribian. Carol also sent her well wishes with a special card. But the biggest surprise is that Hillary may join us in Oakland in July. Spending time with both of the girls; how good can it get!

This is my new home. It is constructed all wood, including wide floor boards. Quite rustic! It is surrounded by wonderful trails and Rennie acts like a puppy.

I really enjoyed my stay at Woodland Villas. It is owned by Sharon, an energetic woman from Los Angeles. Tired of being treated by her last 4 digits of her social security number, she just chucked it all and moved herself and son Garrett to this rugged life. Garrett, also full of energy, committed his time to the end of the summer and then he wants to start studies in music. I wish them both well! Sharon on arrival saw immediately that the booked room would be inadequate for my needs and upgraded me to a much nicer cabin for the same rate. Garrett loves dogs and would bring Thor kitchen left-overs. Don't worry Margaret, Rennie did not get any scraps, even though he was very much interested. Then there was Tracy, who ensured that I had fresh and soft towels every day, and upon learning my dialysis plight, shared her sister's emotional story. Her sister had a kidney transplant at 16 which lasted 10 years. For the past 10 years she has been on the kidney transfer list awaiting a match and since she has zero kidney functions her dialysis is more critical than mine. Kind of heartbreaking, yet the family rallies around her in a wonderful way.

Carol and Margaret, if you still are looking for the John Steinbeck quote, look under the comments section, that is where I found it. Dee good luck with the surgery. I know it was not an easy decision. Raphael enjoy your time in New Zealand. Yes, a dream has come true for you. It just shows again, if you dream it, it will happen. Good luck with your assignment in Laos and that Verena can join you soon.

Speaking of dreaming, this trip here started in my mind when I saw Carol and Hillary's photos of their trip here 8 years ago. It is as beautiful in reality. Crater Lake is the deepest lake of the USA at 1932 feet and the intense blue comes from the fact that blue is the last color absorbed by deep water. Of course, the Ranger had a zillion of other facts I am sparing you. I am leaving you with this short video of a panoramic view.
Mary
6/18/2012 08:36:34 am

Pretty cute! You are having the time of your life. wonderful!

Reply
Carol Goerig
6/19/2012 04:31:37 am

So you did attend a Ranger talk! Great photos and panoramic shot. Your cabins are getting more and more minimalist. Pretty soon you'll be able to touch both walls at once.
Everyone's being very accommodating, it seems, and that makes traveling so much easier.
Now you've got Oakland in July with both girls to look forward to.
Enjoy the snow. It's going to be 90's-every-day here soon.

Reply
Hillary
6/29/2012 01:41:16 am

OH! I want to live in this cabin!

Reply



Leave a Reply.