If you had been around about 7 thousand years ago you would have experienced Mt. Matanza blowing his top in a grand spectacle, thereby forming the bowl which has become Crater Lake. Basalt and lava found itself many miles away and rivers such as the Rogue river had to carve out a path through it. (see video at the end)

Lava tubes facilitated this process and were formed by the outer layer of basalt quickly cooling, while hot lava continued to flow inside the shell. Once the labs had flowed through these tubes, easily recognizable in the picture above, they remained either for the water to flow through or were barricaded as you can see one in the lower middle of the picture.
The living stump gets its nourishment via a root graft, consequently it lives on as long as its mate stats alive. I found it kind of neat.
On May 3 2012, this lad climbed a 4 foot safety fence trying to get a better vantage point for a better picture. He lost his balance and was swallowed by the rush of water flowing through Rogue River Gorge at over 400,000 gallons a minute. Despite extensive searches by the authorities and family members his body has not be recovered to date.

Finally, I have to cut short my stay as my dialysis machine crapped out on me. My new machine is delivered to Dan Weggeland (Lori take notice) my Army Buddy of 45 years ago Lori located for me. This will be my 4th model and makes me lose confidence in the product made by the German firm Fresenius.

It will be a major temperature shock for myself and Rennie as the temps in Palo Cedro are regularly over 100, while we are used to getting up at 38 degrees and the high play around 60.

Cheers,

Peter
Carol Goerig
6/19/2012 11:41:31 am

I didn't realize the "Army buddy" was Dan Weggeland! That's a big score, to find him. Even I know who he was. Really sorry to hear about your machine. Don't get too used to doing without it.
I love it that you are spouting so much geology talk. Hillary will be proud of you.

Reply



Leave a Reply.