I dedicate today's blog page to my sister Lis, who is celebrating her birthday with her boyfriend Chuck under sad circumstances. His mom his terminally I'll and my prayers go out to both of them. They plan to go camping the old fashioned way - pitching a tent. I told her better them than me, I outgrew tenting at age 12 with the boy scouts. Gosh, do I remember the wet nights. Happy Birthday, Lis.

Having experienced two wonderful days with Dan and Darlene, Rennie and I hit the road again in search of the perfect beach spot before we have to go to Oakland again. However, I need to tell you one final item regarding Rennie and the deers. Dan said that he did not see a single deer all day on his property and Margaret he wants to know how much you charge to rent Rennie? Apparently, Rennie left a calling card behind!

Regarding out trip. When you look at the map and chose a route like a Easterner would, you may choose to California routes 299 leaving Redding, then connecting with Rt 3 and the Rt 36 to US 101 and finally at Leggett take famous Rt 1 and enjoy a leisurely drive along the Pacific coast. The you would say it should not take more than 4 hours as it is about 200 miles in distance, right? Wrong, wrong and deadly wrong!

First of all I did not encounter a stretch of highway more than 100 yards long without at least one S- curve. Then it was up and down mountainside. If they warned you to slow down to 10 miles an hour because a terrific switchback was approaching you better to took heed, otherwise there was no guard rail to keep you from plunging a few hundred yard below, where if you were really lucky you would find yourself on the same route again.

At Leggett CA, where US 101 and CA 1 intersect we could have driven literally through a Redwood tree, but the line was too long so instead a few miles down Rt 1 we were forced to drive around a fallen tree. Luckily a local cowboy type came through for us tourists. Actually, his wife was the hero. When the cowboy asked her if she left the chainsaw on the pickup truck she replied, no, but I left the chain on the truck. He managed with the chain and his 4 wheel drive to drag enough of the tree aside where he cleared one lane for us to pass.
Rennie liked it because he was able to negotiate an extra bathroom stop out of it

I have a total different appreciation for Northern California now. The local drivers are very courteous and they have pullouts ever do often allowing for quick passing. With it raining all the way I was the one mostly doing the pullouts.

After driving about 8 hours, yes that amounts to about 25 mph average, we arrived just north of Ft Bragg and were in luck regarding a room with accompanying pet. Theresa at the Sand and Surf lodge an absolutely fantastic place informed us there was one more room for pet friendly clients. I think the rain must have caused some cancelation, because I just can't imagine the place being available. A number of places did not accept pets and were completely booked out. So from two nights in a fleabag hotel in Redding (they had an American Legion convention and places like La Quinta were booked solid) Rennie and I lucked out with a Penthouse.

There are great trails right to a gorgeous beach, immense fields of wild flowers and even on the cliffs there are flowers. I think the rain today brought out the succulents. I will try to take some pictures when there is no rain. Rennie just ran and ran on the beach. He is totally exhausted.

Last night I did not get much sleep as I had a "pacer" above me who literally paced all night long. The new cycler worked out great and it felt good not having air enter my abdomen. The setup for dialysis here is the best arrangement yet. Everything is within reach; it is even better than home. We are staying put for the next 7 days. We have everything!!!
Life is good!

Cheers, me
Carol Goerig
6/23/2012 02:56:19 am

If you're in the penthouse at this motel, how can there be someone above you (reference to the "pacer" you mentioned)?
Lots of drama in this post, what with the S-curves, downed trees and whatnot.

Reply
Peter Goerig
6/23/2012 05:01:40 am

The "pacer" was at the Hill Top Lodge. As you can see both were called Lodges but different like day and night. The same goes what people out here call "resorts". However, you are right this place is the perfect spot. The terrain reminds me a lot of the German island of Sylt, but without the mob. I don't know when the tourists will show up, but right now it is more than tolerable. Having the beach to myself this morning was devine.

Reply
Margaret Goerig
6/25/2012 11:03:36 pm

Rennie, that rascal. I TOLD him to leave his business cards at home; I said it was wholly inappropriate that he solicit more work, while on his trip with you, espECially since he is supposed to be providing you with complimentary bodyguard services, but-- well, being the Taurus that he is, I'm sure you've figured out that he's awfully stubborn. I'm sorry for his behavior and please tell Dan that his offer is very kind but that Rennie is already lined up to be a cat-sitter, indefinitely.

I'm glad to hear that you arrived at such posh digs, unscathed by falling trees and hairpin curves. I hope that Marco (the car) is performing well for you.

Reply



Leave a Reply.