As usual Rennie insisted on leaving the room and proceeded to immediately doing his business. I bagged dutifully and left the bag at the side for pick-up on my way back when that thunderous voice of what could have been a woman Marine sergeant said, "you are not going to leave that here"? Suppressing something like " no I was going to leave it for you", I just told her that I was going to dispose of it properly on my way back (I had also noticed by then the 3 dogs she had on the leash). I later saw them again with the dogs roaming and Rennie nervous. I kept on walking the other way, but I heard a commotion behind me and the three dogs were charging at us with the woman yelling at them but not getting them to return to her. I held on to Rennie tightly and at the top of my voice with outstretched arm I yelled " get baaaaaaack"! Two of them stopped in the track, Rennie slumped to the ground at the verociry of my voice, but the third one continued to charge. I repeated the command with a threatening step toward the fast approaching dog. Rennie also emboldened started to bark. The dog an Australian shephard with a quick look back and realizing he was alone, quickly pulled off. They departed after that and we had the beach to ourselves.
The waves were about 3 feet high.

-----------------------------------------------------
Mountain goat or dog in sheep clothing?
carol
6/24/2012 04:17:40 am

Well, WHEW! Sounds like a close call you had this morning, with little help from Rennie the Sheep in Dog's Clothing. Are dogs allowed to run free on that beach?
Enjoy the cool temps. We're supposed to get our first 100-degree day this week, and you know what that means.

Reply
Peter Goerig
6/24/2012 05:48:02 am

I think Rennie would have defended me, but he behaved exactly the way I wanted him. I did not want him to became the object of a chase between the other dogs.

Running the beaches is an accepted practice by dog owners early in the morning and late at night when the beaches are empty, Rennie just wants to be the alpha male with every dog.

I am sorry to hear that you will be facing the century mark in temperatures this week. Not fun! You probably don't want to hear the temps here, right. At 38 this morning both sweat shirts and gloves came in handy and at the anticipated high of 60 I will not be wearing shorts that is for sure. I hope you are enjoying the lilies. They should be out in force by about now. Poor things they don't like the extreme heat either.

I have been seeing more draught resistances lawns out here and some our beauties. I will post a pix later.

Reply
Margaret Goerig
6/25/2012 11:14:03 pm

I take back my earlier comment about Rennie providing you with free bodyguard services; it sounds like the reverse is actually true. Thank you for making sure there was no gang warfare. Sheesh. And to think the day started off with HER yelling at you.

Reply
Hillary
6/29/2012 01:33:27 am

I LOVE this post as it includes 1. an adorable photo of Rennie in action and 2. you yelling. I am glad that you didn't become the center of a dog fight and that your booming voice made everyone think twice.

Reply



Leave a Reply.