There is always that fork ahead; however Rennie had been keen to keep us on the right path. The trails here are numerous and lead through fields full of tall grasses, wild heather and an assortment of wildflowers. There is a type of swallow which skims the tall grass in a way I have never seen a swallow do that. Usually the fly high after insects, but this green backed and white on its underbelly fly just a few inches above the fields or water.

Rennie and I spent a good bit of the day at Ft Bragg/Mendocino botanical garden. It was a fantastic experience to take in all the beauty. Some of 47 acres was cultivated and some of it was left natural, especially along the ocean cliffs. What I really enjoyed were the exhibits of the draught resistant plants.
Yet my favorite flower so far grew in the wild right next to the ocean and is called Indian Paintbrush. I think it is aptly named.
My dialysis regimen is going splendid with the new cycler.

penny
6/25/2012 10:27:49 am

We have those swallows swooping over our golf course. I think they are barn swallows.....they don't eat enough bugs for me!

Reply
Nancy Dove
6/25/2012 12:06:16 pm

What fabulous pictures!! Love Rennie at the fork in the road. Aren't you the wit. Glad dialysis good. Was on pins and needles until I read cycled arrived.

Reply
Peter Goerig
6/26/2012 10:31:28 am

Thanks Nancy for noticing the related meaning as it related to the fork in the road. Nancy, was instrumental in my decision to consider a kidney transplant. She was given a kidney by her sister and removed some of my doubts. She also has been very supportive of my efforts and keeps my head straight. Thank you, Nancy

Carol Goerig
6/25/2012 11:05:54 pm

Have you seen the future for our front yard, and is it cacti? Not a bad idea, since we no longer get any rain. Might as well prepare.
Nice to see Rennie giving such thought to the diverging paths.
I'm glad to hear the cycling is going well!

Reply
Nina
6/25/2012 11:33:02 pm

I'm glad that you took time to visit Mendocino... one of my favorite places.
I love the photos from the botanical garden!

Reply
6/26/2012 07:48:05 am

Bring home lots of suggestions for a drought garden. Now you have another career path as a landscape architect. Loved the garden pictures. Great to hear about the cycler working.

Reply
Peter Goerig
6/26/2012 10:34:14 am

Betty, I am seeing so many draught resistant gardens and I understand that tropical storm Debbie is just teasing and the temps are at the century mark in Athens.

Reply
Hillary
6/29/2012 01:30:27 am

Daddy, these botanical photos are beautiful! I am getting ideas for our landscaping in Austin. I think a lot of these would do well here too and I have seen Indian Paintbrush in town. I too think it is lovely.

Reply



Leave a Reply.