When you enter Mendocino you immediately feel the difference from Ft Bragg as there is one arts center or gallery after another. I also immediately understood why it was on Nina W. favorite city list and why she told me to make sure I visited it. Mendoncino has successfully combined artisan ship and a sophisticated life style, yet has maintained the charms of the past such as a half dozen of these water towers. Even both cities share the marvelous coastline, I got the feeling that Ft. Bragg was a bit more industrious. They both offer unique B&B accomodations; however Ft. Bragg offers more choices of motels and based on my limited observations - a bit biased - better beach access.

Mendocino offers very few cultivated front lawns per se; it is flowers, flowers, flowers or just native wildflowers. Can anyone identify that tall flower stalk. They grow between 15-20 feet tall and have those tiny lavender colored flowers

You also have to get load of this backyard.
And if I have convinced you to relocate to Mendoncino, than here is your first contact. No, Carol I have not put down a deposit yet.

Here is the view if you stand in front of the 4Sale sign.
Once again, thank you Nina W. for suggesting this part of California Rt. 1 for me. I don't think I would have come here without your suggestion.
Nina
6/27/2012 01:11:55 am

Hi Peter, I'm so glad you enjoyed Mendocino! I used to stop in at one of the hipster coffee shops on my way to the pygmy forest. It does have a very artsy, hippie vibe, while Fort Bragg is home to a big lumber mill and is certainly more industrial.

Is that neat flower a Sedum species? If the leaves were succulent, then it might be.

Reply
Peter Goerig
6/27/2012 03:44:22 am

I am sorry I could not check the leaves as it was in a fenced garden. What is strange I only saw these tall stalks in Mendocino.

Now that other flower I posted reminding me of a Cauliflower has broad almost bushy dark green leaves.

I guess I should have bought the book on California native flowers the ladies at the botanical gardens were pushing.

Reply



Leave a Reply.