This part is a bonus in gratitude for the flood of comments from all of you. It was extremely rewarding for me to get them and knowing that you are enjoying my drivel.

When I asked Nina W. for suggestions on what I should see, she told me that I had to visit the pigmy forest in Mendocino County. Rennie and I did just that.
What you see just to the right of the railing is not a young forest, but in some cases may be trees 100-200 years old. What was yards in diameter in Redwood Tree country last week and grew to 300 feet in height, compared here by 2-3 feet in height and less than one inch in diameter. For example, take the Mendocino Cypress in the following picture. In good soil it can reach a height of 100 feet; here a Mendocino Cypress at one quarter of inch diameter and 1-2 feet tall has shown 80 growth rings.
What is responsible for such a natural "bonsai"? Geological upheavals coupled with ocean changes actually created 5 terraces over the course of 500,000 years, meaning that where I took the pictures from, was now 650 feet higher than 500k ago. It is interesting to note that nature has a sense of math as each terrace was created about 100,000 years apart and even the height of each terrace was between 100-130 feet in height.

Ancient soil within these terraces and it's flat terrain, restricted drainage and rainfall leached out the necessary nutrients creating an extremely acidic environment as evidenced by the iron rich hard pan type soil. Slow growth and poor drainage creates wet soil that in turn limits oxygen reaching the root system. Obviously, there are other factors, but based on the lectures I received these are the answer to why we have a pigmy forest.

I was also taken by the Bishop Pine. You may be able to make out the cones below. These cones can stay closed for many years; in some cases they only open during a fire attack. At that time the seeds do not burn, but become activated by the fir to start a new forest. The sane thing can be said at those horrible wildfires in AZ, CO and UT. The forests will replenish.
Finally, the Pomo Indians lived in these coastal areas primarily by fishing, hunting and eating from the land. Supposedly, they loved Huckleberries. I am not familar with what they look like; however I am including a pix of a berry type I cannot identify. Notice, the wine red bark which is in stark contrast of the rest of the shrub.
While trying to identify different plants, all your master gardeners out there, what is this? I ran across early this morning on my way to the beach.

And finally this pix of one of my favorite spot. It stretched the little I-Touch's technical brain to its max, but I think it still shows up OK.

Carol Goerig
6/26/2012 11:10:21 am

None of those "Part II" photos sent...all I see are blue squares with "Click Here to Edit" in them. Your i-Touch just had its poor little circuits overloaded bigtime, I think. You'll figure it out, though.

Reply
Peter Goerig
6/26/2012 11:17:17 am

Resent?

Reply



Leave a Reply.