Accepting the cold water of the Pacific and the coolness of the weather and loving it has been one of the startling transitions that I have made over the past couple of weeks.

Today I braved the 53 degree water and lasted less than one minute. I thought my heart would stop. The locals did not mind as you can see from the short video. Of course, Rennie has loved the frigid water from the first day on and cannot understand why I don't dive into the waves with abandon.

It has been kind of a down day for me as I found out that Marley our senior grand dog is not doing well. Marley was adopted by my daughter Hillary at 6 months and I think he would turn 15 later this year. He enjoyed a wonderful life with Hillary and Chris her husband.

Marley was a well heeled traveller visiting places like the Grand Canyon, where he dug in his heels about 5 feet from the rim and refused to take another step. He was smuggled into a motel in Las Vegas, walked Rt 66 (actually relieved himself at the side of the road), knew something was not right at Death Valley, but above everything else loved the outdoors in Lake Tahoe, including swimming in the clear water with Hillary. What a great dog and loyal companion!
Penny
6/27/2012 11:38:13 pm

Oh, Peter! I am so sorry to hear Marley's not doing well. He is a fine dog! I loved watching him sitting at the window here at our house with his paws regally crossed.

Reply
Sharon Bauer
6/30/2012 01:34:50 am

Love all the pictures and I know you're having a great time. We miss you though. : )

Reply
dee
6/30/2012 03:50:19 am

It appears that you are having a wonderful adventure out West. Just thought I would let you know my hand sutrgery went well. It has been guite painfuf and will take a lot of therapy to get back to par, which I knew. Hope you continue having a great tme.
i know you and Rennie are really enjoying each others company. We all miss you much. Take care.
love, Dee and Joe

Reply
Peter Goerig
6/30/2012 05:01:48 am

Hi Dee,

Wow that went pretty quick with the surgery. I am sorry to hear about the pain and the handicap surrounding the rehab. However, you are a real trooper and I am quite sure that before long they will kick you out of Rehab, right.

Reply



Leave a Reply.