My thoughts and prayers are with daughter Hillary and her husband Chris, who had to say goodbye to Marley, yesterday. Marley had a wonderful home with them for the past 15 years and will be missed greatly.

Marley and I had great times together. I will never forget our cross- country trip in the U-haul with Marley and Margaret, taking my daughter's stuff to Lake Tahoe.

Goodbye you wonderful companion. I will miss you forever.
Rennie is taking a final look at his wide open playground. I had to carry him into the passenger seat as for the first time on our trip he refused to jump into the car with me. He sensed that this was the day to say goodbye and his days will not be as carefree as they had been. The time he could just run through the surf at full speed mocking the water or flushing out the prairie dogs while cruising to the tall grasses never having a chance to harm them. Just running circles in the sand or sniffing endlessly whatever piqued his interest "du jour"! Not having to defend his territory to the woman with the three dogs. It will be interesting for him to return to the urbane environment of Oakland.

This was our sunset on the final evening. It seems to perfectly describing my mood in a wonderful way of grey colors.
My favorite clump of trees and the sky seem to be waving their final goodbye to me personally.

The past 7 days here was truly the perfect oasis for me. The nearly deserted beach, the cool temperatures, the magnificent display of wild flowers, the starkness of the coastline, the struggling surfers in the frigid water, but above all the serinity which I felt out here. It will be etched in my memory forever as I look ahead whatever the future will offer.
Carol Goerig
6/30/2012 11:11:52 pm

"Grey" describes my mood, too, with Marley gone. We all dreaded the day. He was such a polite, dignified dog, as lucky to end up with Chris and Hillary as they were with him. His rough beginnings...and the BB pellets he still carried in his hide...were not at all predictive of the dog he would become. We miss you lots, little buddy.
Good photos and thoughtful comments, Peter.

Reply
Hillary
7/23/2012 01:27:21 pm

aw. I just found this. Thank you for your words. I'm still sad about it. It makes me a little less sad to know how much he meant to everyone though. He was a special boy.

Reply



Leave a Reply.