I am not your average theologan nor do I want to be one. I am just a simple soul being wracked by this great power presently that I cannot explain in the first place to begin with. But let us get back to the main title for a moment. It is not my intention to make anyone uncomfortable when I introduce a religious term onto the blog, yet prayers for my well being were offered throughout my ordeal. It seems that my soul was hungering for these offerings and your assurances to keep me in your prayers. Unexplainable things have happen to me over the past few days and it feels that these great rivers of energy have formed a confluence near me, shaking me to the core.
She was your typical slightly built Latina woman. She was the little housemaid at the University Inn when we checked in. She had glanced at me briefly and taken in all my medical baggage which I need for my daily dialysis needs. Perhaps, she was aware that it would mean extra work in the form of additional thrash. Then she looked at me a bit more closely and in a short exclaimed latin accented comment she said "Ducks, bueno". It took me a moment to translate, that she meant, she referred to Duke's medical facility. She went on in Spanish to let me know that she had had surgery in connection of her pregnancy. While, I have travelled to Mexico frequently, I am not accomplished. Why did I understand her so clearly?

Then she looked at me again and said malo, which I had no quarrel with. My face as the result of the steroids has turned into the classic moon face and there was no denying the truth. She had come closer and had taken my hands and folded them for me and proceeded to pray for me. Why?

The ICU ward was rocking with laughter after my operation as the attending staff was trying to bet me back from wherever the had me deposited. It seems that Ken had discovered that I was German and he urged me to oerform my best Arnold Schwarzenegger routinte. I guessed that he must have really liked the part about "puffing you up! as I had put it, because Charlie his partner had never seen him so excited. Over a patient coming out of recovery. They both said that I had made their top 5 list, whatever that means. Then they went on to let them "what do you see? Oh, dear Lord I said to myself, I can't say that. So I fibbed and told them that I saw purple candles. They were once again rocking with laughter.

While in ICU I was joined by my sister who had travelled with Chuck to Durham to be close to me.
Then a layminister appeared and asked if he could pray with us and offered us communion right there among the medical equipment?

Why at this moment? My sister and I had drifted apart over really non-issues over the years and here we were side by side taking in the holy host in a monumental way. Why? The words, that hammered into my brain, were not different from prior communions had celebrated. "Take this body".

Well, why did I find out that subsequently to that, my tumor the worst of its kind was successfully and no remaining traces.

If you have the answer let me know. I am overflowing in these blessings here.


Why?
We are oreparing to break camp here later on and will try to be back in Athens by sundown. Our good friends the Katsiba's from Charleston have been wonderful. I now even have Duke blue devil skull cap. They walked miles to buy me one. It will be good to be home. I have already a couple of appointments scheduled for me starting Monday, howeverI am also looking forward to some visits with you. Ed and Marianne we still need toast your brand new Marriage. How was your honey moon.

As for me, have been granted a new lease on life. Yes, I have been on an emotionsl roller coaster and I have been granted this river of personal sea changes

Your daily support has uplifted meto an extent, that I have not thought possible.

Keeping you in my prayers!

Love,

Peter
Retia Cornelius
11/26/2012 09:35:47 pm

Peter , I really miss you at the pool , there is no one there to remind me that I have 20 more minutes when we are doing a level 3 Tuck-Jump. :) Prayers are poured upon you because you are such a beautiful person and a joy to be around.My motto is "Stay focused and let God do it". :) My prayer : Dear Lord ,humbly I come before you , putting my needs and desires aside asking you to continue to cover my friend Peter with your healing hands, strengthen his body where it is weak , comfort him and his love ones in their moments of fear, let them know you never put more on us than we can bear . reassure them Lord that you will never leave them or forsake them. Heal Peter dear Lord , make their travels safe. Continue to bless Peter and his family with your love and return him to his waterbuddies who love him dearly. thank you father in Jesus name I pray A men, Amen Be Blessed my friend , Retia

Reply
Gary and Elizabeth Hyman
11/26/2012 09:54:41 pm

Cannot be any more profound than Retia's inspiring message and prayer. So glad you're coming home, filled with such positive energies for each day ahead. We miss you, special friend.

Reply
11/27/2012 12:13:18 am

Dear Peter and Carol,

The Lord works in mysterious ways His wonders to perform. And from Hebrews--your latino maid--be mindful to entertain strangers for so you may have entertained angels unaware.

Blessings and continued strength in the days ahead.

Starlyn

Reply
Margaret
11/27/2012 12:30:49 am

Dear Daddy;

You don't have to be a theologist to have faith: faith that we're not alone; faith that we're not in charge here; faith that something bigger than us is at work; faith that somehow things will work out, even though it likely will not be how or what we expected. I'm so happy that you've had hands helping you along this whole time, that you've been experiencing both the kindness of strangers and the love of friends and family. It's been a buoy for you, for sure, but it's been uplifting for me, too, knowing that while I am thousands of miles away, you're still surrounded by so much support and by so many people, who just want you to get well. Thank you so much, everyone.

Now get home safely today and I'll be there to hug you in less than a month.

I love you,
Margaret

P.S. I wish I'd been there for your Schwarzenegger impersonation. Maybe keep that one in the files.

Reply
Mary Anne
11/27/2012 12:47:46 am

Aaaaah. (Deep breath.)

See you soon.

Love you both,
M&E

Reply
Steve and Sally
11/27/2012 03:48:47 am

What wonderful news. Have a safe trip home. Will call you both soon.

Reply
Joan Kidd
11/27/2012 05:32:04 am

Peter, The Lord does speak to each of us through other people. He has spoken to me through the words you have written. You are a special person. Our prayers for you and family continue.
Love, Joan

Reply
Nancy Dove
11/27/2012 07:00:56 am

I can honestly say there were times in my life when I questioned God's existence. However, one day late in 2010 when it began to look like my transplant was light years ahead, I was in my darkest hour, and seconds away from a complete breakdown - a deep, and very powerful peace seemed to appear out of nowhere. I immediately went from questioning the merits of continuing life to being at total peace. It was the most profound experience of my life. God does work in amazing ways my friend and is holding both of our hands.

Reply
Dee
11/27/2012 10:55:14 am

Peter and Carol I'm sure you are home by now. Hopeful your ride home did not wear you down to much. I'm glad you had a good friend that came up to Durham to drive you home. Joe and I have had you in our prayers. Get a lot of rest now that you are back home. We send our love and take it easy and try not to exert yourself. Give yourself time to heal. If you are Carol need anything let us know. Love from Sis and Joe

Reply



Leave a Reply.