When my daughters and friends suggested that I continue my blog at the start of my diagnosis, I wasn't too sure I wanted to do it. Who wants to hear the lamentation of a struggling soul in their daily lives. Well , I am here to tell you, I have changed my tune.

This blog has become my own holy grail of sorts. Each entry has been carefully included. Each of your comment sealed into my heart. Your comments have lifted my spirits and allowed me to face the next steps. The daily encouragements have been like Manna from heaven for me. II have shed tears unabashedly over the time you have given me with your words. Imagine taking out the time and letting me know that you are with me in this fight. I am the luckiest guy alive. Life is good, indeed
Today we will meet with the oncology staff here at Duke. The purpose will be to define a protocol regarding my post operative treatment options. Obviously, eradicating any remnants of harmful cancer cells is paramount, however I am also highly vigilant to protect my weakened kidneys. It does not help me to be successful in rooting out the brain cancer and run roughshod over the kidneys, right?
To that extent, let us rejoice and celebrate my kidneys. They had to endure a lot the past couple of weeks and were astonishing. The steroids have been very strong and causes all kind of havoc, including in my dialysis regimen. MRI's and contrasts do not extend the lifetime of kidneys, yet here they just kept up their daily task, despite being placed on high blood pressure. The ICU ward was blown away at this observation.

I also received a late e-mail from Dr. Chapman at Emory. She had guided my kidney protection program for the 20 years and made herself available in the search for the best possible treatment option. Imagine that! Now I can bank on her and years worth of research and her professional network as well, including the Emory cancer facility.
Will this be enough?

Obviously, nobody knows at this time!

However, I want to beat it!

I have received personal committments from my daughters and you, that says "stay strong" and we are prepared to fight with you side by side. What greater gift is there ?

Oh dear, had a feeling the last shred of selfdoubt would fall today. I have not held back! I am looking ahead at my immediate future with the utmost confidence.

Once again, thank you for being here in behalf of myself
Hillary Bilheimer
11/25/2012 09:32:22 pm

Thinking of you today. I know you'll have a lot of information coming your way and I trust you will make the best decisions for your health and quality of life. Xoxo! Talk soon.

Reply
Michele
11/25/2012 09:37:33 pm

You are an incredible family with so many friends. Yesterday members of Carol's drumming circle dropped pebbles into the water on your behalf, Peter. This is a weekly ceremony at the Unitarian Church honoring friends and family. I hope you felt the many words of encouragement.

Reply
Penny
11/25/2012 09:56:34 pm

Peter, we are holding good positive thoughts for you. Your good attitude is inspiring and something that is so important in your healing process. Keep it up and all of your friends and family will also. Love from Pete and I.

Reply
Mary Anne
11/25/2012 11:13:08 pm

Ed and I are thinking of you as always. Today is another big step on your road home. Can't wait to see you back in Athens. Believe it or not, your blog is a lifeline for us too, although of a different sort. Keep hanging in there.

Reply
Steve and Sally
11/25/2012 11:19:18 pm

Sending positive thoughts your way today when you meet with your doctors.

Reply
Gary and Elizabeth
11/26/2012 12:17:49 am

Oh so glad you are keeping your updates with all of us. We're all pulling for you, dearest friend. Your strength buoys us as well, but know that there are lots of wings our here to keep you afloat when you feel like taking it easy. Missing you lots. Many hugs often.

Reply
Dena
11/26/2012 05:53:15 am

Glad to know that Dr. Chapman is in your corner! We're there too, cheering you on.

Reply
Nancy Dove
11/26/2012 10:11:28 am

Lots of love sent your way from the Dove family. Go kidneys! Safe travels on your way home.

Reply



Leave a Reply.