When Hillary attempted to contact me this afternoon in my motel room, she had to try very hard to pull me in from another planet.

I thought, I had updated my blog and physically I was spent and had crashed!

The day was spent with the oncology team, who administered neural based tests as well as reviewed my case. The news, that I expected, included the fact that the tumor they removed would be one listed in the bad categories and it was. Glioblastoma is the name and it was rated at grade 4, the worst!

Here comes the surprise. The surgeon was able to harvest the tumor in its entirety and the subsequent post-operative MRI with contrast did not show any signs of cancerous "leftover's. Even the doctor's where surprised.

Naturally, they can't take a chance and have developed a protocol of treatment, which will ensure that the tumor will not have a chance to return. I am enrolled into the Duke's National Tumor research program. A treatment plan has been established for me in Athens; however I will also be travelling after every 8 weeks to Durham for my MRI here and the check-ups. The treatment plan does involve new novel drugs, such as Avastin at $ 15,000, but will also include things such as oral chemo and radiation. I will have 42 day timeline to travel and plenty monthly check-ups.

I will need your continued support and I do need to get back into an exercise regimen!

Earlier, when Hillary contacted me, she literally exhausted her cell phone and her battery supply, neither of us wanted to stop the conversation and we were able to shed tears of joy with each other for the first time! Oh, what a wonderful gift! We both, had left the door open, that the news could be terminal!

I had shared with one of the attending doctor's that I was receiving this fantastic support from my blog and he only nodded. I wonder if he really understood the full extent of your loving support and all the nuances!

I have felt reborn all day long or at least enlightened!

Ready, to march into my new future, victoriously!

Love, me
DpENNY
11/26/2012 09:02:18 pm

Wonderful news!

Reply
11/27/2012 03:40:52 am

Three Cheers for Super Peter! That was quite uplifting.

Reply



Leave a Reply.